Movie Review: Beauty and the Beast 2017

Director:
Bill Condon
Running time: 129 minutes
Release Date: March 17, 2017
Genre:
 Musical | Romance | Fantasy
Casts:
Emma Watson as Belle
Dan Stevens as The Prince / The Beast
Rate:
5 smaller

Belle (Emma Watson), a bright, beautiful and independent young woman, is taken prisoner by a beast (Dan Stevens) in its castle. Despite her fears, she befriends the castle’s enchanted staff and learns to look beyond the beast’s hideous exterior, allowing her to recognize the kind heart and soul of the true prince that hides on the inside.

My Point of View:

I’ve been keeping an eye on this movie the moment I saw its trailer last year. I watched it the day after the showing date here in the Philippines since I’m very sure that I will encounter long lines.
You know what I mean especially when it’s first day of showing.

Seats are limited considering the movie just had its second day. We had the last full show ‘cause of my working schedule. To my surprise, I still encountered the long lines going inside the cinema but I don’t care anymore, I’am just steps closer from watching it.
The movie starts at almost 11:00 pm and everything went beyond my expectation.  It was a 2-hour magical movie which brought back all my childhood memories. It captured not only my attention but also my emotions. Totally LEGIT, it is a fairytale that comes into life. It was the same plot which was made for the past years, nothing had changed. Everyone will surely agree when I say that this movie brought the nostalgic feeling when we say Disney works. It is so magical to see Mrs. Pots, Cogsworth and Lumiére into live-action singing “Be our Guest” and “Something There”. I love the cinematography of the movie, from the way how the camera moves up to the complexity of every scenes. It seems I was watching a 3D, myself. My favorite scene is when Gaston and Le Fou performed the Gaston, they put everything into real and I can’t ask for more.
Wise chose for the artists chosen for each character. Luke Evan’s performance for Gaston is outstanding and I honestly can’t resist his charm. His voice got me while Emma Watson got my emotions. And the Beast, Dan Stevens, got me with his charming smile.

I will never spoil anything but if you’re a Disney lover since birth, I’am sure that this movie is already on your bucket list. And if you’re still thinking that it is not worth watching, go ahead and watch in your nearest cinema you will never regret watching it. It will remind us how wonderful falling in love is and brings the child in you.

I’am planning to watch it on 3D, anyway. 😉

TALE AS OLD AS TIME,
SONG AS OLD AS RHYME,
BEAUTY AND THE BEAST..

Leave a Reply

