Book Review: Kitty Hawk and the Mystery of the Masterpieces

Kitty Hawk Mystery of the MasterpiecesAuthor:
Iain Reading (Iain Reading)
Genre:
• Adventure | History | Mystery
Status:
• Available in eBook (here)
4 smaller
+ Add to Goodreads

Kitty Hawk and the Mystery of the Masterpieces is the eagerly anticipated fifth installment of the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency book series. This series features the intrepid teenage seaplane pilot and amateur detective Kitty Hawk as she continues in the footsteps of Nancy Drew and Amelia Earhart on her epic flight around the world.

After meeting up with an old friend in the eternal city of Rome, Kitty Hawk unexpectedly stumbles (almost literally) into a bizarre mystery involving creepy disembodied voices, secret hidden rooms, unbreakable mathematical codes, ominous chain-smoking strangers and an array of plundered artworks by such famous masters as Claude Monet, Camille Pissarro and Vincent van Gogh – all of it wrapped up and entwined in an enigmatic riddle hanging in plain sight right in front of everyone’s noses.

With the help of friends both old and new, Kitty Hawk follows a trail of cryptic clues that leads her on a breathless tour across a quintessentially European landscape – from ancient Roman Italy to the darkest corners of Germany, Austria and beyond.

My Point of View (POV):

** I received an eBook copy from the publisher for an honest review**

This is the 5th installment of Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency series which is composed of 54 chapters plus prologue and epilogue. After her adventures in London, it is time for her to visit Rome where she will meet Charlie, the guy whom she met way back the Yukon adventure. Well, the moment I saw the title of chapter 1, smile appeared on my face. Is this the book dedicated to Charlie and Kitty’s tandem? I can’t wait to figure it out! Obviously, I’m a fan of their tandem.

The story is about Kitty and Charlie who found themselves being involve into a mysterious kind of event. Well, it will not be Kitty Hawk if she will not put herself into different type of problem solving. She might be the living proof of “when curiosity attacks”. Getting back to the topic, Kitty’s ability to distinguish things easily made them involve in a mystery behind the lost or should I say, stolen masterpieces. The paintings of Van Gogh, Monet and Pissarro, to name some of them are lost.

At first, I don’t believe about it but when I do my own research, it is true!! Their paintings are missing. The story also tackles about some of the world history, I might admit that I really hate World History when I was still a student but I find it interesting.

What I love the most about the story is it is a mind boggling especially the Number Stations which freaked me out! It is a very clever way of decoding numbers into letters that really pushed me to do my own decoding process. I love how Kitty and Charlie travel the city of Rome using a scooter while chasing for someone but I don’t like the darkness of Germany’s history, it is kinda creepy.

The mix and match of fiction and nonfiction is well maintained and the detailed explanation of every place they have been. Though I loved how Iain Reading put into words the places that Kitty visits, it also led me into some boring parts maybe because of too much research. The suspense of the adventure is interrupted by too many information which is dumped to me. In simple word, I’m interrupted by too much information which is not part of the suspense adventure. Though I found it educational especially to young adults, maybe the author can lessen the overflowing information that can made the story boring.

Asking me ‘bout the ending?
No! I will not spoil anything but let me leave you with some clues.

“The  more  I  thought  about  it,  the  more I  realized  that  not  all  puzzles  have  solutions”

Surely recommended to all those people who love the mystery behind the missing paintings of the famous painters.

Until the next Kitty Hawk adventure!!
try1

Leave a Reply

