Book Review: Kitty Hawk and the Tragedy of the R.M.S Titanic

Kitty Hawk RMS TitanicAuthor:
Iain Reading (Iain Reading)
Genre:
• Adventure | History | Mystery
Status:
• Available in eBook (here)
5 smaller
+ Add to Goodreads

Kitty Hawk and the Mystery of the Masterpieces is the eagerly anticipated fifth installment of the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency book series. This series features the intrepid teenage seaplane pilot and amateur detective Kitty Hawk as she continues in the footsteps of Nancy Drew and Amelia Earhart on her epic flight around the world.
After meeting up with an old friend in the eternal city of Rome, Kitty Hawk unexpectedly stumbles (almost literally) into a bizarre mystery involving creepy disembodied voices, secret hidden rooms, unbreakable mathematical codes, ominous chain-smoking strangers and an array of plundered artworks by such famous masters as Claude Monet, Camille Pissarro and Vincent van Gogh – all of it wrapped up and entwined in an enigmatic riddle hanging in plain sight right in front of everyone’s noses.
With the help of friends both old and new, Kitty Hawk follows a trail of cryptic clues that leads her on a breathless tour across a quintessentially European landscape – from ancient Roman Italy to the darkest corners of Germany, Austria and beyond.

My Point of View (POV):

** I received an eBook copy from the publisher for an honest review**

“The storm that breaks after the flood drag the innocent through the mud the treasure lies not with dragons blood but where ancient stone like flowers bud”

And YES!

After so many places explored and experienced its culture, it is time for Kitty Hawk to show what she got inside her brain and that is to be a detective in the land of Europe.

Kitty Hawk and the Tragedy of the R.M.S Titanic is the 4th book of Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency series. It has 56 chapters with a prologue and two epilogues that have 3 different locations around Europe. I can say that among the books that I have read, this might be one of those stories that are full of intrigues. Titanic is not new to me since I have watched the movie myself but what it amazed me is the mix and match of fiction and nonfiction. It is hard to distinguish which among the stories are true and which is not so better start researching while reading at the same time. Other than Titanic, it also tackles about the British Museum, Jack the Ripper and different hieroglyphics that really caught my attention.

Well, let’s go to the main topic of the story. This story is about Kitty Hawk who was asked to be a detective in order to figure out what is written behind the picture which is given to Andrew’s family, hundreds of years ago. I know that Iain Reading’s work is based on true story but some scenes pushed me to do my own further research. I never thought that Titanic has these kinds of different stories from different angles. It is really unbelievable and mind blowing, such a genius writer indeed! Sleepless nights occurred because of this page turner book and this is the type of story that I’m really looking for. Honestly speaking, I loved reading detective books such as Sherlock Holmes that is why I was very happy to see some clues which is inspired from Holmes stories. My mind is really working while reading this book though I read it late night most of the time.

In fact, I was really overwhelmed with the story itself so sometimes, I can’t easily find what it lacks. Though I love every chapter of it, I felt a bit disappointed about what the treasure is. But if you will look it into other perspective, you will realize that it is more than just a treasure.

Recommended to those who are an avid reader of Sherlock Holmes stories and want to know the other controversies behind the popular unsinkable ship, the Titanic!
try1

Leave a Reply

