Book Review: Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold

Kitty Hawk Yukon GoldAuthor:
Iain Reading (Iain Reading)
Genre:
• Mystery | Young Adult | History | Adventure
Status:
• Available as an eBook (here)
5 smaller
+ Add to Goodreads

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold is the thrilling first installment in a new young adult series of adventure mystery stories by Iain Reading. This first book of the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series introduces Kitty Hawk, an intrepid teenage pilot with her own De Havilland Beaver seaplane and a nose for mystery and intrigue. A cross between Amelia Earhart, Nancy Drew and Pippi Longstocking, Kitty is a quirky young heroine with boundless curiosity and a knack for getting herself into all kinds of precarious situations.
After leaving her home in the western Canadian fishing village of Tofino to spend the summer in Alaska studying humpback whales, Kitty finds herself caught up in an unforgettable adventure involving stolen gold, devious criminals, ghostly shipwrecks, and bone-chilling curses. Kitty’s adventure begins with the lingering mystery of a sunken ship called the Clara Nevada. As the plot continues to unfold, this spirited story will have readers anxiously following every twist and turn as they are swept along through the history of the Klondike Gold Rush to a suspenseful final climatic chase across the rugged terrain of Canada’s Yukon.

My Point of View (POV):

** I received an eBook copy from the publisher for an honest review**

Where am I going to start?

Well I feel that I need to say this but I will truly try my best not to spoil everything to you my dear readers.

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold have thirty three (33) chapters plus the prologue and the epilogue. It is the first out of four books of the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency series.

It is all about a young aviator girl named Kitty A. Hawk who has a De Havilland Beaver and want to spend her summer on Alaska for a research about humpback whales. She doesn’t even have an idea that the place where she is going has its mysteries and history. She met a lot of people who told her the stories about a place called Yukon and that is where the story begins. Or better check out the book cover because it summarizes all.

Reading this story reminded me of Narnia and Wizard of Oz maybe because I’ am a fan of adventurous stories. But what made this story different is it is a real story. Yes! The story is made up of fiction and non-fiction. I was amazed on how playful and intelligent the author is. Honestly, I made my own research about the places, names and especially the Yukon Gold but I was amazed to found out that everything is true. The places, the mysteries, the names except Kitty of course and the other characters, are do really exist. Like Dyea, this reminds me of the lost civilization of the Atlantis and my favorite, the Legend of a Cedar tree. It opened my mind about the history of Alaska though I’ am not living around it.

Each chapter is a different adventure which results to be a page turner. The maps and pictures helped the reader to see what Kitty passes by while travelling; it feels like you are with Kitty. It has unexpected scenes and unexpected emotions. I never thought that bad things might turn into a good one when something happened critically. And because of that, I felt sad when goodbyes already came. But the ending left me hanging.

All in all, the story is a BLAST! As in, a BLAST! I admire Iain Reading for doing a deep research about the Yukon and other mysteries around it. I love how he kept the story alive through the places he used and describe places/things clearly.

I will surely recommend this to my younger niece and to other people who loves adventure and mystery. Of course, I will recommend this to those who want to know the story behind the Curse of the Yukon Gold.

I just do hope that this book is available here in the Philippines because if yes, I will surely buy all the series! If not, maybe I will do what Kitty Hawk did, can someone PLEASE do give me a book copy?

MAYDAY! MAYDAY!!
try1

Leave a Reply

